An Open Letter to Mother Nature …


Photograph by Carol Hathaway - 2008

Photograph by Carol Hathaway – 2008

I’m a fan. Some of your work is beautiful. Gently falling snow, rainbows after a storm, a bright sunset, and those sunrises, unbelievable.

Sadly I must take issue with your recent efforts. I’m not so happy with the cold, the wind, ice and the subsequent power outages. Not so great.

While I realize that it is January and I live in Canada, I was counting on that slightly milder spell that was promised for this weekend. You know the one, minus 10 with the wind chill? A little sun to lift the spirits?

Mother Nature, I respectfully request that the air be a tad warmer and how about a little less wind. My fingertips want to remember what it’s like to not tingle in my gloves.

Thank you.


“The beauty of the natural world lies in the details.”
~ Natalie Angier

Leave a Reply

