Shadow selfie … Woman and dog


Photograph by Carol Hathaway - 2014

Photograph by Carol Hathaway – 2014

So, I had this great idea.  Everyone is taking ‘selfies’.  I wanted to be different, so I came up with an idea for a ‘shadow selfie’.  It was simple.  Stand with the sun at my back, just so, and take a picture of my shadow.  Then I expanded the idea and decided on a series of ‘shadow selfies’.

I’ve been waiting for the sun for days.  Today, the sun showed its face and stayed bright for a few hours.  I gathered up the princeling and his things, put on his coat and away we went.  I wanted a ‘shadow selfie’ with my dog.  I even had a name for the photo.  We photographers like naming our photos.

We walk to the park and I find the perfect spot.  Gloves off, camera in hand, pose the dog.  I’m ready but the princeling doesn’t want to stay still.  I pose him slightly ahead of me, raise the camera, he moves ahead to sniff a rock.  I move over a bit, pose him, he moves forward to check out the park.  I sigh.  I try again.  He’s posed, camera is ready, he runs to the left to check out the leaf that the wind blew 2 mm.  He moves to the left, he moves to the right, stand up, sit down … fight fight fight.   I find a little snow pebble, throw it and he moves to a spot and sniffs.  Finally, something that works.

I take my photo.  Woman and dog.  Perfect.

So proud of the result, I show Precious.

Me:  Cool photo, yes?  The second in my ‘shadow selfie’ series.
Precious:  hmmm … it would look better without the foot prints.
Me:  SIGH …


You can’t leave footprints in the sands of time
if you are sitting on your butt,
and who wants to leave butt prints in the sands of time!
~ Bob Moawad

Leave a Reply

